Larkfield 10k


The Larkfield 10K course once again proved to be a favourite with Tunbridge Wells Harriers with a third of the Harriers entries running Personal Best or Age Group Best times.

The Race, which was hosting the Kent Championships, started in near perfect conditions although as the breeze increased and the temperature rose conditions became more testing. At the front of the race Rob Jackaman of Cambridge Harriers took the lead from the start and although pushed near the end held off his nearest challenger to win by fifteen seconds in 32mins 50 seconds.

Larkfield10kTeamPhotoFor Tunbridge Wells Harriers Andy Howey continued in the form he has shown so far this year by winning the M50 category in a time of 35:39, therefore retaining his Kent M50 title. Finishing close behind were Stuart Shields (36:25) and Mark Gamage (37:48 Personal Best) enabling the Harriers to take 2nd Team prize in the Kent Championships. Maria Heslop of Paddock Wood took the ladies title in a time of 36:50 while the three leading Tunbridge Wells Harrier ladies, Pru Clements, Sally Burton and Jillian Holford all ran Age Group or Personal Bests to secure 3rd place in the ladies team event.

A little further down the field Eric Schofield put the disappointment of not being able to finish a race last weekend by smashing his own Club M75 Club Record completing the course in 52:47.

The finishing times for all Harriers:-

Andy Howey 35:39
Stuart Shields    36:25
Mark Gamage    37:48  (Personal Best)
Terry Everest      38:05
Matt Clements   39:04
Mark Carroll       39:35
James Sarre        41:07
Saul Harris          41:17  (Personal Best)
Alan Collard       41:29
Pru Clements     41:31  (Age Grp Best)
Geoff Turner      42:12
Steve Bright       43:02
Simon Holford   43:15
Sally Burton       43:19  (Personal Best)
George Harris    43:31  (Age Grp Best)
Casper Morris   44:17
Jillian Holford    44:19  (Personal Best)
Nicola Morris    44:36  (Personal Best)
Colin Ricketts   44:37
Peter Richardson  46:09
Michael Russell  46:34
Hayley Larkin  46:38  (Personal Best)
Michael Sharp  47:07  Age Grp Best)
Kim Deeney  49:53
Stella Richardson  50:08
Eric Schofield  52:47  (Club M75 Record)
Catherine Kinder  (56:30)
Helen Jenkins  (58:32)

A Great turnout from the Club and Great results. It should all help in The Grand Prix.

Bob L