Eridge 10 Event Report

Eridge 10

On Sunday 13th September Tunbridge Wells Harriers hosted the Eridge Park 10 Trail Challenge, one of the most popular cross-country races in the race calendar. The Eridge 10 is a privileged and unique chance to run on a traffic-free course over private land through an historic deer park and ancient woodland. With stunning views, the run takes in the country estate’s former carriageways, three beautiful lakes, a Saxon hill fort topped with a Victorian folly and a number of natural springs. This year’s conditions were very good with low temperatures and mostly firm underfoot, making for some impressive finishing times. There were still a number of bogs to keep the mud lovers happy. After slogging around the 10 mile course, finishers were greeted with complimentary cake, beer and t-shirt. This year’s event went high-tec with the race captured from a drone camera. Check out the footage on YouTube! 361 runners completed the course including 28 Tunbridge Wells Harriers with Andy Howey winning the M50 category in 1:09:46 and Mark Gamage the M40 category in 1:12:30. Well done to race director Dave Hadaway and all the other volunteers who made this special event such a success.

The winners category results were as follows: SM, Ben Cole, Tonbridge AC, 1:03:26; M40, Mark Gamage, Tunbridge Wells Harriers, 1:12:30; M50, Andy Howey, Tunbridge Wells Harriers, 1:09:46; M60 Bryan Tapsell, Crowborough Runners, 1:24:46; SF Lucy Reid, Tonbridge AC, 1:11:33; F35, Emma Crawford, Petts Wood Runners, 1:21:18; F45, Tina Oldershaw, Paddock Wood Runners, 1:18:47; F55 Peri Cheal, Crowborough Runners, 1:34:58. The male team prize was won by Tonbridge AC (Ben Cole, Daniel Watt, Greg Cole) and the female team prize was won by Petts Wood Runners (Emma Crawford, Emma Doyle, Hannah Roberts).



6 Andy HOWEY M50 01:09:46
8 Mark GAMAGE M40 01:12:30
16 Tim LUCAS SM 01:16:55
17 Matthew CLARK M40 01:17:33
32 Tom WOOLLEY SM 01:21:19
58 Nicholas REYNOLDS SM 01:24:54
77 Mark TAYLOR M60 01:27:33
88 Danny WINSON M40 01:28:28
102 Simon HOLFORD M40 01:29:59
103 Andy PAGE M50 01:30:01
108 George HARRIS M40 01:30:25
110 Richard QUARTERMAINE M40 01:30:33
124 Jillian HOLFORD F35 01:31:43
127 Michael COSTAIN SM 01:32:03
131 Matt NEWMAN SM 01:32:44
164 Nick PIERCE M50 01:36:20
172 Richard FRENCH M50 01:37:36
177 Derek HARRISON M60 01:37:52
186 Jonathan HODGE M40 01:39:05
192 Boris SKULCZUK M50 01:39:35
233 Sonja KING F35 01:44:47
234 Michael YOULTON M50 01:44:51
239 Jonathan RICKARDS M60 01:45:28
257 Siobhan BROWNE SF 01:48:04
277 Gary O’REILLY M50 01:50:18
288 Mark CROWHURST M50 01:52:37
320 Jenny DAVIDSON F35 02:02:14
321 Jason REEVES SM 02:02:33
361 Bryon TAYLOR M70 02:44:38